• What I’m listening to

  • xfm
  • I hope you are doing this for the right reasons

    Posted by K on July 13, 2007

    For those of you who don’t read comments:

    Tiffy wrote @ July 13th, 2007 at 10:00 am

    are you sure you should be hosting when you have such a little baby? I hope you are not planning to use the exchange student as a babysitter like a lot of people do. The foreign parents pay thousands of dollars for their children to participate and the exchange placement agency makes millions – I hope you are doing this for the right reasons

    I don’t know why but I was a little caught off guard by this comment. I guess just because I know my intentions and the history I have with exchange students, and I can’t fathom why anyone would want to ruin such an important experience for a student. I know it does happen though. In my high school, there was this lovely girl from Japan who was staying with two of the teachers from our school. You would expect they would have high regards for students right? Wrong. They had her wait on them, do their dishes, cook for them, basically serve them. It was awful. She wouldn’t say anything to the administrators and just let it continue. I don’t know what she was afraid of? I know that if you aren’t happy in your home, another will be found for you. I know this crap does happen, but not at my house. I have a teenage niece and nephew. I’m used to showing them around, teaching them new things. This will be like that only more so. It’s getting the chance to experience your own country through someone else’s eyes. It’s getting to meet someone new and welcome them in your family. It’s learning about another place and another culture. We couldn’t be more excited to share this with someone!

    Update:  After posting this, I stumbled upon this thread and it makes my rosy eyed expectations of hosting seem impossible!

    3 Responses to “I hope you are doing this for the right reasons”

    1. Dear miss, my exchange year in the states was an great experience with wonderfull “second” exchange parents. I am this guy who has been described in this Spiegel Article and hosting students is an great experience. And I would liek to encourage you to do it 🙂
      Your Mike

    2. kat said

      We are definitely going to, whether it’s this year or the next (because of the schools deadline) that’s the only question now! It’s nice to get a positive comment on this, everyone we talk to about it think we’re nuts 😀

    3. kat said

      And we live in the “bible belt” and I’ve seen many people like the ones who hosted you, and I am so sorry. I don’t know why people cannot learn to be more tolerant and stop trying to control other people’s lives.

    Leave a Reply

         
